top of page


The aim of the Statewide Carnivals is to have the ‘best playing against the best’ with all the most talented country and metropolitan cricketers from South Australia participating. In the 2023-24 season, the Statewide Carnivals will be used to identify players for our SAPSASA (Under 13), Under 15 and Under 17 South Australian squads. Below is information in regard to the various Carnivals that will held this season:


Under 18 Shield

SACA’s U18 Shield will enter its 77th season when teams meet for a two week carnival in January 2024. Commencing in 1947-48, the Carnival originally consisted of ten District teams and two country teams in what was known as the District Schoolboys Competition. This competition continued to grow and in 1973-74 was renamed as the Shell Shield. At this time the competition consisted of 12 District club teams and two country teams. The Carnival was held over a period of three weeks with each team playing 11 matches. The team that won the most number of matches was declared the winner of the carnival.


The competition now consists of  12 Premier Cricket clubs.


Teams are divided into two zones and play four one-day matches. These matches will determine the standings for semi-final matches, with the top two teams facing off in the grand final. For the 2023/24 season the competition will be an U18 competition. 


Click here to view Under 18 Shield fixtures for 2023-2024

Click here to view Under 18 Playing Conditions for 2023-24


Ray Sutton Shield

In 1979-80, the South Australia Cricket Association programmed and managed the under-13 boys “Savings Bank Shield Competition”. For this initial season, 12 clubs, including Edwardstown and Salisbury, were split into four groups. At the conclusion of the minor round matches, the winners in each group played in semi-finals to determine the teams to compete in the final. The final was played on Adelaide No 2 and Sturt defeated East Torrens.


The 1982-83 competition saw a change of format from the previous concept of four zones. To give a greater depth to the series, the teams were grouped in two zones of six, allowing for each team to play each other once. The competition was briefly referred to as the “State Bank Shield” from 1984-85 until 1990-91. After this time, the competition has been known as the Ray Sutton Shield, in recognition of the man whose idea and initiative it was to begin this competition.


Ray Sutton began his cricket administration career at Prospect as Secretary, and during his time there, Prospect won seven premierships in 11 years. He joined the SACA in 1980 as the District Cricket Coordinator and during the next 10 years was instrumental in establishing this junior competition. After retiring in 1990 as the SACA Cricket Coordinator, the competition was named in his honour.


Today, the Ray Sutton Shield competition acts as an introduction for young crickets to Premier cricket. Clubs are split into two geographical zones with games exhibiting the best primary school cricketers from each zone. Five rounds have been scheduled on Sunday afternoons (including a semi-final round) and provides players with a chance to utilize the best Premier club facilities.


Click here to view Ray Sutton Shield fixtures for 2023-24

Click here to view Ray Sutton Shield Playing Conditions for 2023-24

bottom of page